Announcements:


Location

Lectures will be held on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays in the Mechanical Engineering Building (MEB), Room 248, from 11:30AM-12:20PM

Lecture Schedule

  
Week Date Monday Wednesday Friday
1 9/28 - 10/2 No Class Forces I (DB) Forces II (DB)
2 10/5 - 10/9 Forces III (DB) X-Ray Crystallography I (EM) X-Ray Crystallography II (EM)
3 10/12 - 10/16 X-Ray Crystallography III (EM) X-Ray Crystallography IV (EM) Protein Folding I (DB)
4 10/19 - 10/23 Protein Folding II (DB)  Protein Folding in vivo (DB) The RNA World I (AW) 
RNA folding movie
5 10/26 - 10/30 The RNA World II (AW)  The RNA World III (AW)  Sequence Comparison (DB)
6 11/2 - 11/6 Structure Prediction (DB)
Coevolution Analysis(SO)
NMR I (RK) NMR II (RK)
7 11/9 - 11/13 NMR III (RK) No Class(Veterans Day) Protein Dynamics I (VD)
8 11/16 - 11/20 Protein Dynamics II (VD) Electron Microscopy (WH) Viruses (WH) 
9 11/23 - 11/27 Protein Design (DB)
Design movie
Discussion Section No Class(Thanksgiving)
10 11/30 - 12/4 Signaling and Protein Modification I (NZ) Signaling and Protein Modification II (NZ) Membrane Proteins (WH)
11 12/7 - 12/11 Structure-Based Drug Design (WH) Chemical Biology I (DM) Chemical Biology II (DM)
12 12/14 - 12/18 Exam
Instructors
E-mail
David Baker dabaker@u.washington.edu
Ethan Merritt merritt@u.washington.edu
Valerie Daggett daggett@u.washington.edu
Rachel Klevit klevit@u.washington.edu
Wim Hol wghol@u.washington.edu
Alan Weiner amweiner@u.washington.edu
Dustin Maly maly@chem.washington.edu
Ning Zheng nzheng@u.washington.edu
Teaching Assistant
E-mail
Jiayi Dou
doujy@uw.edu

Grading

Your final grade will be based on weekly homework assignments (60%), class participation (10%), and the final exam (30%).



Homework

All graded homework assignments will be returned in class.

[ Homework #1 ] Assigned 10/5, due 10/12 in class
Homework #1

[ Homework #2 Solutions]
Homework #2 Solutions

[ Homework #3 ] Assigned 10/30, due 11/6 in class
Homework #3

[ Homework #4 ] Assigned 11/6, due 11/13 in class
Homework #4

[ Homework #5 ] Assigned 11/3, due 11/16 in class
Homework #5


Resources

tRNA-like structures tag the 3' ends of genomic RNA molecules for replication: Implications for the origin of protein synthesis

The genemic tag hypothesis: what molecular fossils tell us about the evolution of tRNA

NMR Seminar Assignment


Office Hours

Office hours are held each week in Health Sciences J-475 on Fridays from 9am to 10am. Please email Jiayi at doujy@uw.edu to make an appointment.

   

Recommended Reading

Protein Physics, Alexei Finkelstein, Oleg Ptitsyn
Introduction to Protein Structure, Carl Brenden and John Tooze
Structure and Mechanism in Protein Science, Alan Fersht
Proteins: Structure and Molecular Properties, Thomas Creighton


click this