Advanced Biochemistry 530

Last Updated: September 30

Autumn Quarter, 2016

BIOC530 - Introduction to Structural Biology

David Baker

Biochemistry Department

University of Washington

 

Announcements:

 

Location

Lectures will be held on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays in Loew Hall (LOW) 201, from 11:30AM-12:20PM

Lecture Schedule

  

Week

Date

Monday

Wednesday

Friday

1

9/26 – 9/30

No Class

Forces I (DB) 

Forces II (DB)

2

10/3 - 10/7

Forces III (DB)

Protein Folding in vivo (DB)

 

  Membrane Proteins (WH)

5

10/24 - 10/28

The RNA World I (AW) 
RNA folding movie

The RNA World II (AW) 

Molecular Fossils Article

The RNA World III (AW) 

6

10/31 - 11/4

Sequence Comparison (DB)

Structure Prediction (DB)

Electron Microscopy (DV)

7

11/7 - 11/11

NMR I (RK)

Reading assignment

NMR II (RK)

No Class (Veterans Day)

8

11/14 - 11/18

NMR III (RK)

Protein Dynamics I (VD)

Protein Dynamics II (VD)

9

11/21 - 11/25

Protein Design (DB)

Design movie

Discussion Section

No Class (Thanksgiving)

10

11/28 – 12/2

Signaling and Protein Modification I (NZ)

Signaling and Protein Modification II (NZ)

Viruses (WH)

11

12/5 - 12/9

Structure-Based Drug Design (WH)

Chemical Biology I (DM)

Chemical Biology II (DM)

12

12/12 - 12/16

Exam

 

 

 

Instructors

 

 

E-mail

David Baker

dabaker@u.washington.edu

Ethan Merritt

merritt@u.washington.edu

Valerie Daggett

daggett@u.washington.edu

Rachel Klevit

klevit@u.washington.edu

Wim Hol

wghol@u.washington.edu

Alan Weiner

amweiner@u.washington.edu

Dustin Maly

maly@chem.washington.edu

Ning Zheng

 

David Veesler

nzheng@u.washington.edu

 

dveesler@uw.edu

 

 

 

Teaching Assistant

E-mail

Allison Maker

makera@uw.edu

 

Grading

 

Your final grade will be based on weekly homework assignments (60%), class participation (10%), and the final exam (30%).



Homework

All graded homework assignments will be returned in class. 

 

 

[ Homework #1 ] Assigned 10/7, due 10/17 in class
Homework #1

 

[ Homework #2 ] Assigned 10/15, due 10/24 in class

Homework #2

 

[ Homework #3 ]  Assigned 10/29, due 11/7 in class

Homework #3

 

[ Homework #4 ]  Assigned 11/7, due 11/16 in class

Homework #4

 

Resources

tRNA-like structures tag the 3' ends of genomic RNA molecules for replication: Implications for the origin of protein synthesis 

The genemic tag hypothesis: what molecular fossils tell us about the evolution of tRNA 

NMR Seminar Assignment 

 

 

 

Office Hours

 

Office hours are held each week at 10:15 on Fridays in the Engineering Library study room 202 or 203 unless otherwise noted. Please email Allison at makera@uw.edu to make an appointment.

    

 

Recommended Reading

 

Protein Physics, Alexei Finkelstein, Oleg Ptitsyn

Introduction to Protein Structure, Carl Brenden and John Tooze

Structure and Mechanism in Protein Science, Alan Fersht

Proteins: Structure and Molecular Properties, Thomas Creighton

 

 

 

 

click this